Cannot get my tracks to arm, rec light will not come on

jimheavy933

Gear owned
mx2424
I am computer illiterate, so you will have to bear with me... I have done the steps to start a new project, but for some reason I can't arm the track to record, the rec light will not come on... I have the analog cards and have switched it from digital to analog in the setup menu. I reformatted the drives and so on, but I am now at a loss... I get signal in the meters register and I hear it thru my monitors, but for some reason I cannot get the tracks to arm... I called Tascam and the tech was not familiar with the machine enough...Please help!... Thanks Jim

Have you mounted the drive? The tracks will not arm unless a drive is mounted.

Are you using MX-view software in a PC to view the MX2424? I ask as it is easier to trouble shoot if you are as you can see the project list and start a new project.

Cheers
Alan.

Hi Alan, I am sorry if I didn't post right, I am new to this type of forum... In response to your questions, to tell the truth I'm not sure? When I turn on machine it says mounting volumes, I then tried pressing the mount switch, which it then reads no new volumes mounted. Also the little green light next to the hot swap drive reads 0...
As far as the MX-view software, I haven't got that far yet... Do I just plug an Ethernet cable into the back of the machine and then into y-cable into my computer? As I have only 1 Ethernet receptacle on my computer... By the way thank you very much for replying to my post,,, it is much appreciated!

Thanks
Jim

OK, I need to take this through start up to get a handle on what is happening,

The MX is turned off > turn on > mounting drives > (if a drive mounts the screen on the MX goes to time code something like 1.00.00.00), if the drive does not mount it says > no drive mounted (or something like that).

What are you getting.

Alan.

Reactions: Caveman
Yes it does come up 1.00.00.00, also was just checking out you web site very cool.