Converting / Importing a Roland FP-30X piano mid file with Audio depot

Neil Paisnel

Gear owned
112 MkII, DP24-SD
A brief intro since I am new here..

I am not a musician or a sound engineer of any type. I got roped in to help as I seem to be the most technical person around here that knows this musician that has all this kit.

He has a Roland FP-30x electronic piano and he has created a track that he wanted to save. I found the online manual and supplied him with a USB stick ..which he looked at blankly with a 'WTF is that " look.
He does not have a computer or mobile then and he is pretty non-tech.

I showed him how to save his track to the USB stick and this evening I have had a chance to examine it

Seems the Roland exports as a .mid file

I also see that the Audio Depot Menu item on the DP-24 imports files as wav.

So, easy enough ..Amadeus Pro to convert to wav file.
so that should import via Audio Depot.
But a my question is this..

The file is very 'flat', see screen grab. peak amplitude of -20db

Should I just do an overall amplify of say 19 db or a 'normalise' in Amadeus Pro ...before exporting as a wav? or just leave it as is?

Also I see the file is two channel , a stereo file, is there any point in this ..should I just bin one channel and import to a single track on to the DP-24?

roland.jpg

Last edited:
Reactions: Eric Guicherit
You could really do both ways. Either normalise it in your computer first or it could be done later in the Tascam unit. Since it seems the person you are helping is not very technically minded it might be better to do it before you import it.

Since it is a stereo file you can import it as a stereo file. But if it does not contain any stereo information you might as well save it as a mono file. Does he/she know what he/she wants? You can do both ways.

For the future: It might be better and easier to record the piano/synth directly with the Tascam. I mean that is the whole point with it.

Last edited: