DM3200 meter bridge

zofz

Gear owned
dm3200
Hi there ...Im a newbie here and I am in the process of buying a dm3200 secondhand and would welcome some help please

I use a mac running Logic and my question is ....
can I use a DM3200 effectively without the meter bridge.... just using the mixer in Logic on the mac for recording and mixdown .....or do I really need to be able to see the signal level on the bridge

Ideally I would buy one with the bridge ...but a friend has one without the bridge at a reasonable price and I dont want to buy it if its going to end up sitting in the corner of my room for a couple of months till i can afford to buy the bridge ( £525 min approx) as an extra... thanks for any help cheers Ralph ( Zofz)

Although I have a meter bridge and find it quite helpful, it's not a necessity for many tasks. I still cross reference levels see on the bridge with the LCD channel displays. But the timecode function is very handy; it would be hard for me to give that up.

That said, the meter bridge's biggest benefit - to me anyway - is during self-production/tracking. I can see the display through the door of my iso room; so keeping an eye on levels is easier. The bridge is also very handy at mixdown

Many people find the MU1000 a luxury; some don't need it at all. I've come to rely on it regularly. It really depends on what you're doing.

By the way, you should repost this message in the DM3200/4800 section of the forum. This area is for user introductions.

CaptDan

+1 to everything CaptDan said.

Also, if you have a lare screen (or multiple screens) connected to you DAW computer, you may find Tascam DM Compainion software's meter function as useful as the real meter brdge.

captdan said:
By the way, you should repost this message in the DM3200/4800 section of the forum. This area is for user introductions.

No need. I moved the topic.