Dm4800 controlling a HD24

David Feeger

Gear owned
dm4800 and hd24
Has anyone had any luck getting the dm4800 to run transport functions on the Alesis HD24? I'm new to this console and it's got me confused on getting this to work if it's even possible.

Without having to read through the Alesis manual: what protocols for machine control does it accept? MIDI I assume, but maybe others as well.. I would think it should be possible - whether it's easy to accomplish is another question.

I used to run an HD24 with my DM all the time. Still do on rare occasions. It's been a long time since I've set it up from scratch, I have project presets that I load from the DM whenever I use the HD24. I don't remember it being difficult to do. It works quite well. The only "trick" is to program and utilize the location presets from the DM, it greatly enhances the workflow. You need to enable the Generate MTC and MMC from the HD24 and send that to the DM. I also always slave the HD24 to the optical out from the DM, it always seemed to work better than the reverse setup.

I'm an old analog man and this transport thing has me befuddled. I can get it to use the play and stop buttons with no issues but, when I try to use rewind or fforward, there's nothing. I'm also not getting any time display on my meter bridge. If I set it to MTC chase, it kills the transport functions. Any help you can give me would be greatly appreciated.