DP24 Mixdown Question/Help

Tony Robinson

Gear owned
DP24sd
Hi. I am new to the DP24sd. Have just finished a song and trying to mixdown. My question is that at a certain point in the song I wish to change multiple faders/levels at one point. Problem being that with all the will in the world I just do not have enough fingers to change 8 different faders in on e split second. Is there a way to do this. If I stop the mixdown and do a new in/out point and carry on recording with the new levels set, it just creates a new mixdown of that section. Any ideas? I'm sure this must be a simple editing technique. am I being silly and missing something simple? Cheers

No you're not missing anything. These recorders are powerful tools - but they do have some limitations. Automated faders is one feature they do not have.

In most cases - there is usually a work-around - however inconvenient.

I have not been in your position- maybe others who have can chime in and offer advice.

You may be able to do bounces of the individual tracks and add those volume/level adjustments one by one and them send all those to mixdown?

Another more obvious possibility is to get another set of hands there with you and make the adjustments in real time that way.

Good luck!

Thanks for the reply. I just can't help thinking this must be a quite common thing to want to do. I can remember doing it on a few occasions on my old zoom mrs. Can't remember exactly how. Think it was a case of just stopping the recording of mixdown and then setting the new levels/muting tracks etc and then resuming record. But as I say when I go to try that on the dp it just starts again from the in point..