Gen1 x48 turned into x48mkII - and dead motherboard resolved

Discussion in 'TASCAM X-48 and X-48MKII' started by Neal, Mar 29, 2017.

  1. djt

    djt New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2012
    Messages:
    21
    Likes:
    0
    Gear:
    DM4800 X48
    Hello. I've finally decided to sell my X48 which I used once and which sat for a very long time but am still having hardware problems. First problem after sitting a few years ago was the bum power supply which I replaced. And now more recently after sitting again, I got the failure to load message and all the channels turned to the flashing red and after reading all everywhere it's got to be the motherboard. I took it to a so called local official TASCAM repair facility who had it for 4 months and was stymied and simply wanted to replace the motherboard with another $450 Iwill board, so now I have it back (all taken apart and in pieces) and followed the advice here and picked up a used Intel D525 MW; but now that I have it, it looks totally different than my Iwill and I'm not sure about how to make the connections since it's much smaller and doesn't have the same connections as does the Iwill. Anyone help or guide in this regard? Any additional pics would also help. Thnx
  2. flapsreed

    flapsreed New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2019
    Messages:
    7
    Likes:
    6
    Gear:
    DM-4800, X-48mkll
    Hey guys, Like manji24m in dealing with the X-48 to X-48MKII, I am having the same problem trying to locate the driver for the PCI Device, but I also can't find the driver for the SaneWave PCI 9056 Board. I checked the Hard drive, and Tascam CD for the driver info. but with no luck. I made all the other upgrades fine so far, monitor displays tracks and info correctly. I am using the D525MW motherboard, and have followed the instructions from above. I am using a new SSD hard drive though. The front panel flahes red lights because host is not found, but the computer itself loads up with Tascam X-48 MKII (version 2.00) displaying on the monitor. The Internal sample rate is not highlighted on the monitor, but it could be because I don't have all the drivers installed. I currently have another X-48 MKII but wanted to update my older X-48. I'm new to the forum, but any help would be greatly appreciated!
  3. flapsreed

    flapsreed New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2019
    Messages:
    7
    Likes:
    6
    Gear:
    DM-4800, X-48mkll
    Hey guys, I successfully finished the setup and all is working well!
    The problem wasn't the driver as the X-48mkll restore dvd takes care of it. The problem was the two cables (coming from the midi/time code circuit board) are doubled up and terminated in the ONE molex style box connector, needed to be plugged in at the front panel connector on the D525 circuit board. All is well!...and life is good! Note: I ended up using a small reciprocating saw to make the cut out on the metal chassis...,worked cleanly and fast. Make sure the other electrical components are removed and vacuum instead of blowing air to prevent micro metal chips from causing problems later. Actually, a fun installation!
    Scott Baker and -mjk- like this.
  4. Scott Baker

    Scott Baker New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2016
    Messages:
    28
    Likes:
    2
    Gear:
    None yet
    Well....I have been using the X48 to do some live show recordings and it has been pretty reliable. I have had it hooked up to Mackie dXb 200, rebuilding that console and lo and behold, today, it has decided not to boot again. It may be time to do the MB trick... Flapsreed, I may be hitting you up for advice. I swear this machine hates me. I got things breaking faster than I can fix them.
  5. flapsreed

    flapsreed New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2019
    Messages:
    7
    Likes:
    6
    Gear:
    DM-4800, X-48mkll
    Hey Scott, I would be happy to help. Running the X-48mkll from the mixer board with the RS-422 9 pin Dsub connector cable works great. Only issue like stated early in this thread is the MIDI In/Out for time code and machine control. Not sure why it's not working...anyone else have this issue?..and how you resolved? I will retrace my steps to see if I missed something. Besides this, it is well worth the upgrade to the mkll version. I do have some photos of the upgrade and happy to share.
  6. flapsreed

    flapsreed New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2019
    Messages:
    7
    Likes:
    6
    Gear:
    DM-4800, X-48mkll
    Hey Scott, I would be happy to help. Running the X-48mkll from the mixer board with the RS-422 9 pin Dsub connector cable works great. The only issue I have is I can't sync with another X-48 or other devices because the midi In/Out are not working after the upgrade. Not sure why it's not working...anyone else have this issue?..and how you resolved? Besides this, it is well worth the upgrade to the mkll version. I do have some photos of the upgrade and happy to share. Original X48 Modified.jpg IMG_0866.jpg
  7. Scott Baker

    Scott Baker New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2016
    Messages:
    28
    Likes:
    2
    Gear:
    None yet
    Thanks for the pics..... I absolutely have to have MMC/MTC working on this thing. Automation is key on this box or I have to figure a different path. Once I get going on this, I’ll let you know how it goes.
  8. flapsreed

    flapsreed New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2019
    Messages:
    7
    Likes:
    6
    Gear:
    DM-4800, X-48mkll
    Hey Scott
    I retraced my connections and found my midi cable not fully connected. The MMC/MTC is working!
    In my setup, I’m running two X-48mkll machines synced together with the DM-4800 controlling the transport of each machine (RS-422 to remote in on one x-48, and GPI to the other x-48 remote in.). The X-48 is also passing time code to the DAW (iMac with Digital Performer) via Motu Express (Midi in’s and outs) and all transports synced together. Sample rate of 96khz.
    I also have a second mixer (DM-3200) which I’m gettin time code from the x-48 1/4” phone plug out to the RCA phono “Time Code” input on the DM-3200. I’m using the TDIF connections (24) to the second X-48. I also have a Mac Pro with Digital Performer installed.
    Both the DM-4800 and DM-3200 have the FireWire cards so the iMac has a FireWire port and the Mac Pro has thunderbolt which is achieved by FireWire to thunderbolt cable that Apple sells.
    So, I have the DM-4800 transport controlling two X-48mkll machines and two DAWs (Digital Performer in each) all synced together with an ART clock giving all 96khz sample rate. Really spreads out the CPU usage. Some fun!
    Scott Baker and -mjk- like this.
  9. -mjk-

    -mjk- Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2018
    Messages:
    1,136
    Likes:
    581
    From:
    Hukou Township, Hsinchu County, Taiwan
    Gear:
    DP-32, | 2A Mixer, A3440
    Good Lord, what are you doing with that setup? It sounds fantastic just reading the description!
  10. Scott Baker

    Scott Baker New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2016
    Messages:
    28
    Likes:
    2
    Gear:
    None yet
    Holy smoke man, that is the ultimate rig. I am trying something much simpler. I got the MB in now just trying to find time to rebuild then X48. Hopefully, it will all go smoothly. I got my dXb to fire off the HDR I still have with an old MOTU Micro Express. I am guessing the X48 would have worked as well before it ate itself with MB failure. My dxb has a firewire card as well, so I may try and run ProTools via a MAC and Firewire. as well as the X48... so many possibillities.
  11. flapsreed

    flapsreed New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2019
    Messages:
    7
    Likes:
    6
    Gear:
    DM-4800, X-48mkll
    You will be happy with the upgraded MB. Your setup should work great with Pro tools. I also upgraded the internal hard drive to a SSD. Smaller and more memory. Use the X-48mkll restore dvd and your back in business.
    -mjk- likes this.