Getting external sends to work on Tascam 2488 MKII

John Magee

Gear owned
Tascam 24800 MKII
Hi, I have been through the manual a couple of dozen times looking for how to
use the external effects send at the rear of the 2488MKII. I have tried
connecting an effects unit to the sends but there appears to be no signal
out of the send which probably means the effects unit is not 'hearing' anything from the 2488.
I would really appreciate any help in getting up and running with this. My
apologies if this is a dumb question, but I am new to Tascam and just got the 2488.
Thank you

Hey John - I know this is an old post, but I found a way to do this. It's not how I want to do it, but it works. If there's someone else with a better way, I'm all ears.

1. Connect a 1/4" cable from the EFF1 jack to your effect module's input.
2. Connect a 1/4" cable from your effect module's output to a track (e.g. 8).
3. On the channel you want effect (e.g. 1), toggle the EFF1 level from the 'send' button.
4. Raising/lowering the fader on channel 8 will increase/decrease the gain of the effect being sent. Raising/lowering the EFF1 value from the 'send' option will toggle the amount of mix against the dry signal.

Preferably, I was hoping NOT to use a channel for the effect. I was hoping that an insert cable from the EFF1 jack would send the dry signal, and return the wet signal back to the bus, and whichever channel I mix the EFF1 level from the 'send' screen would give me the mix. Or, assign the EFF1 signal to the 'SUB' channel, which again, would not require me to lose a channel.

If you found out how to do it, let me know. Likewise, if someone else is aware on how to patch an external module without taking up a hard channel, please reply!

Chris

Hi Chris,
Thank you very much for the information. I appreciate your taking the time to respond:)