Help with external effects please

Joseph Bologna

Gear owned
Dp-32sd, 488
Hi, I'm brand new to digital recording and a DP-32. I've been using a 488 cassette deck for 30 years.
My goal is to record thru my old Alexis 3630 compressor and ART Multiverb that I'm used to using.

My dilemma right now is recording drums.
Using input A to track 1 for kick. (Don't want external effects)
Input B for snare, which I'd like to run my effects thru.
Inputs C and D for toms which I'd also like to run effects thru.

I followed instructions on another thread regarding external effects on vocals...
I get how to run the send 1 and 2 out to the effects chain and run them back in thru empty inputs (G and H)

But how do you then get that effects loop to, say, the mics you have in inputs A thru F? I'm fuzzy on assigning the inputs and effects to the same tracks.

Btw... I never learned what bussing is all about.

You cannot assign more than 1 input to a track in Multitrack mode. To do what you're describing you'd have to use Bounce mode.

I see, thanks.

So how do you run external effects to your tracks/inputs as you're recording them?

Hey Joseph -

You mentioned above that you're new to digital recording. If you haven't already - as a new user of the DP-32SD - I highly recommend that you take the time to sit through (at least some if not all) of the Phil Tipping video tutorial series which can be found at the top of the forum:

https://www.tascamforums.com/threads/dp-24-32sd-tutorial-videos.4475/

...or directly here:

https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLI2uGjCObnySgNrQyJmlcQpQaUdgBdW6l