Help with FW-1884, please!

midge F

Gear owned
FW-1884
I'm running Win 7 (64 bit) ...have TI compatible PCI firewire card and just can't seem to get the device to work - the furthest I've got is some stuttering sound (both from samples and vst's in Ableton 8 and 9) ... *Also* after following the great Deering Amps install instructions to the letter, my PC doesn't recognise my FW-1884 as an audio device. This is after several installs/ re-installs of driver v.1.80.

On my laptop with a similar configuration, using a 6 to 4 pin firewire cable, it's recognised as an audio device in Win 7 (32 bit) but doesn't play back mp3's and no sound at all in Ableton 9.

I only experimented with my laptop to see if the device is recognised...I really want it working with my desktop PC... In both cases, I'm not getting a blinking firewire light on the FW-1884 so I'm assuming there's nothing wrong with the unit's firewire ports and more a problem with my configuration(s). I'm not an expert, but am reasonably PC savvy and have googled this and followed installation instructions religiously. I've heard this unit can be a b**** to set up but great when it works. If anyone can help I'd be very, very grateful as, I'm sure you can imagine have spent upwards of 30 hours trying to get it working. I can provide further info if necessary.

Thanks, Midge

p.s. I'm pretty damn sure I've set up the FW-1884 in Ableton correctly (Mackie control surface, MIDI ins/outs etc...but am most perplexed why Win 7 doesn't recognise it as an audio device in the system tray, yet does in device manager. :cry:

"TI Compatible" ?
Did you run the OCHI utility to verify that the chipset is TI?
ohci_tool.jpg

Shoot me an email and I'll try to make some time to walk you through the install.

Tom

Thanks... yeah, I've used the OHCI tool, and my PCI firewire card is, indeed compatible!

Does it say:
Looking for OHCI 1394 Host Controllers...
1:
Vendor: Texas Instruments
?
IF it doesn't say TI and just reports