How can I connect MIDIizer mts 1000 with Fostex r8?

Andrii Stoian

Gear owned
MTS 1000
Hello everyone!
Recently, have Tascam MTS 1000 and 8 track reel to reel Fostex r8. Thought about connecting these together (and make cables for that). Anyone experienced?
Advices are welcome.
Thanks.

That is mixing brands and while it may be possible. I have not known anyone to do it.

Reactions: Andrii Stoian
I believe you need an IF-1000 to attempt syncing these or other tape related machines. If even possible.

I was going to say you need to consult wkrbee to find this out and there he is. I have very little experience with this kind of stuff as we never dealt with it in Chicago.

wkrbee Actually, there are two different ports(sync and serial), which can be connected to dedicated Fostex devices. But as long as I have Tascam sync, I wonder if there could be such one 'industry standard' with these type connections, means that we could connect every compliant device.

Honestly, I cannot tell. Those which is serial looks smaller than DIN, and has 8 pin holes. The other (syncronizer) is 20 pin port(10 + 10) looks somewhat like IDE port on PC motherboard.
I'll look further, if there will be any info on this, I'll update.

As pretty much a self-proclaimed sync expert with decades of owning ats500s...mts1000s etc and synchronizing every combination of tape machines/computers etc......

You want to synchronize a fostex tape machine to a Tascam or to a Studer or MCI or Otari via an mts1000 controlling?

There are scenarios for that.

But.......your question appears to be.... "can I use the mts1000 buttons to use as an autolocator for a single solitary Fostex tape recorder"?

The answer to that is.....no.