How to widen vocals space/perception?

Slugworth

Veteran
Gear owned
DP-008EX
I record on a Tascam dp-008ex and after mastering I occasionally use Audacity (open source freeware) for post-production. I am aware that those two items alone likely limit my hopes for better vocal production/separation/space or other term I am trying to relate.

I avoided recording through DAW and computer programs because I am concerned of the learning curve and the possibility of less instrument time due to more software diddling. However, I will admit that going over whole drum tracks instead of tracking bits at a time and editing them in as needed, gets tedious, frustrating and time consuming. I guess one upside is it forces me to play drums more than I normally would. I've been playing my wannabe E-drum kit Yamaha DD-65 for roughly eight months. I seem to be progressing more lately which I attribute to increased recording.

Anyway, back to my vocals concerns. I've watched YouTube videos on recording vocals. I have employed some tips with good results. Those tips mostly have to do with mic placement and insulation/isolation.
Seems like a lot of videos point to layering vocals for a fuller sound (most using DAW). Maybe I am old school, but I find it irritating when I can't distinguish one lead vocal from what seems to be four or five backup singers (in reality just layering) hitting the same notes. Yes, it sounds bigger, but also sounds too processed and a cover up for possibly a poor singer.

In saying that I would rate my voice average at best. As much as I would like my vocals/voice to sound better I don't intend to hide behind layering. Well, at least not layering overkill. So, how does one achieve wider sound when recording vocals. I've tried copying a vocal track on two channels and then panning each channel full-lock left and right. It helped a bit, but not to what I was hoping for.