Is my DR-40 defective?

Peter Webb

Gear owned
DR-40
Hello,

I just received a DR-40 from Amazon, and it seems to be defective. I am a relative audio newbie, so I just want to confirm with the folks here that I'm not doing something boneheaded before inconveniencing TASCAM.

Here are three recordings I made with the unit.

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/940055/Internal Mic Inside.wav
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/940055/Internal Mic in Car.wav
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/940055/Sure SM57 on Ext 1.wav

The first is a recording I made in my living room with the built-in mics. There is pretty loud EMF interference sound. I set the level so that my voice peaked at -12dB when I held it at about 6-8 inches away, and the noise is clearly audible and quite visible on the meter (at maybe -40dB or so).

I did the second recording outside in my car (which was turned off) in order to isolate myself from EMF sources and as much ambient noise as possible. I did not have my cell or any other electronic device nearby except the recorder.

The final recording is a different kind of noise, a smooth hiss. This is what I get when recording with a Sure SM57 on Ext 1 in mono mode. The hiss seems quite excessive to me, and it is present even when absolutely nothing is connected to either XLR input. The recording with the level set at about 80, which was neccessary to get my voice to peak around -12dB, again about 6 inches from the mic.

Just to eliminate any possible variables I also checked all of these problems without headphone monitoring and found the results to be identical.

Do you agree that my unit must be defective? Or is it possible that the problem is the user?

Thanks for you help!

-- Pete

Opted to return the unit. I'll let the forum know if the replacement is more satisfactory, as I expect it will be.