Little Love Song. Need some input

Eric Guicherit

Gear owned
Tascam DP24SD
Hi guys,

I would really appreciate it if you can check this song and give me some critique, both positive and negative. I recorded it on my DP24SD and mixed / mastered it mostly over headphones which I know is not ideal. But I got some lousy monitors which are just a pain. I basically recorded it to try some mix settings to be used in later projects. That’s why Ididnt go through the hassle of programming the drum machine. So yeah, it may sound a bit boring. What interests me though is the sound quality and mix. I’m not a singer so please, endure...
Looking forward to your feedback.

https://www.dropbox.com/sh/1xa2q8h0ucc3fvq/AADp8j1MlgL34dMNa8kub2Hia?dl=0

Hi Eric.

I like the song. It sounds like a song you'd hear in a Western movie, and that's good. Acoustic c guitars sound great. Nothing wrong with your voice. As a producer, I would have recorded another set of background vocals to thicken it up, but the tones and pitches are on target. The only thing I might consider is trimming the solo, but that's a matter of taste. Overall, I say:

Well done!

Reactions: Eric Guicherit
Thanks mjk. Highly appreciated, even more when coming from you. I have been struggling with equalizing my recordings. Eq’s are everywhere in my chain, on my guitar, effect pedals as well as in the DP24SD. It drives me nuts. But I think I figured them out reading your message. Thanks again.

Last edited:
Reactions: -mjk-
Trust your ears Eric. We all double-process, but in the end if it sounds good, that's all that matters.