Mixing/Leveling Problems 4Life

bottleupandx

From
North Carolina
Gear owned
Tascam DP24sd
Hey everybody, I've got a D24-SD and I'm going insane. I put compression on my drums, bass, and then everything else, but my mixes still never work. They're always too quiet because the ranges of the dynamics are too crazy. I'm a decent drummer so that shouldn't be the problem, but ah man, who knows?

I have to keep lowering things in my mixes so that the mastered tracks do not peak/clip/distort.

Just listen to this first bit of this song and you'll see...

https://soundcloud.com/user-524196185/jump-rope-circles-normalized

AND this is by far one of the best ones I've got close to 0db without it clipping. I think I'm just gonna give up on drums for my tracks and just record acoustic/vocals on this huge recorder.

Thank you for reading and/or listening in advance. This is a great forum and I've read a lot here over the last year or two. Phil Tipping is LEGEND.

-Matt

Last edited:
@bottleupandx as long as the tracks are clean and you get a good mix, you can compress in Mastering and then normalize to get good levels. Use one of the presets as a starting point in the mastering.

Reactions: bottleupandx
Normalizing doesn't do much when you don't have the head room, right? I feel like I've left plenty, but my bass drums, bass gtr, [dang] even my acoustic gtr tracks are too [rangy] and everything as a whole is TOO dynamic. Normalizing doesn't help when everything is mixed together and peaking at different peaks/times.
----
The mixes aren't great, but the master are even worse. I can keep it from clipping, but either way, the OVERALL track always sounds quiet.

Please read it this time:

you can compress in Mastering and then normalize to get good levels

The key is dynamic compression.