Model 12 ASIO very buggy - Windows 11, Ableton 11 - latest FW and driver. See attached video

IliasB

Gear owned
Tascam Model 12
Let's first mention I am an audio developer, so most likely I have done the basics correctly :)

I just bought and configured my Model 12, all OK, except when I started using it with Windows, and Ableton.

I configured multitrack recording, and play back, monitoring the stereo mix only, from inputs 1 and 2, in PC mode.

Often, the meters in Ableton suddenly start pumping - all the same - and the don't show the audio from the device.

When I go through the steps shown in the video, it goes back to working for a while, but it easily goes back into the unuseable mode.

ALSO, it is very prone to horrible digital noise, when Ableton isn't playing back audio.

I've uploaded the video here, it's very short, and it shows both issues - look at the meters, there's no sound obviously:

This issue unfortunately makes the Model 12 unusable for me, is there a solution or should I return it to the store?

The firmware is 1.3, the driver I installed today, so it's the latest.

You see in the beginning of the video, all meters pulsing as if they were all getting the same signal.

Then suddenly they snap back into correctly showing the audio output.

At the end, you also see the red meter peaking, corresponding to the awful shriek it makes when there's nothing playing back. Some sort of digital feedback?

I should also mention, both Windows and Ableton worked fine with the Roland MX-1 mixer/audio interface the Tascam is meant to replace in my setup.

Last edited:
Now THIS is interesting!

Even with the Model 12 switched off, I get the silence and "Meter hopping" seen in the video with the ASIO driver in Ableton!

So somehow the driver loses touch with the device?