Model 12 windows driver flaw. Sound in/out frustration

Xeno

Gear owned
Model 12
Hey all,

I am a long time reader of this forum and I know complaining on my first post is not great but I believe it demonstrate my love/hate relationship with the Tascam Model 12.Everything I am gonna share here is my personnal experience I might have completely fool myself and anyone willing to prove me wrong is more than welcome (trust me I have tried so much thing i'll be happy to found solution).

TL;DR : I am happy with it but Tascam Model 12 should not be advertised as an 10 input/12 output for windows as the 'default driver' in USB usage do not permit it (only 2 main output) for all application as it does for Linux and Mac.

This is going to be a long thread containing a lot of elements. I have read countless threads on internet watch youtube video and so on.

That being said, for the context : I am not a sound engineer got few years of DAW enthousiast and musician hobbiest.

The GOOD:
One year and an half ago decided to gift myself this little one after looking on other similar model and for me the keyseller was 10in/12out autonomous/computer interface connectivity.
Just perfect for my need:
Enough input for drums, a mic, a friend with a guitar without unplugging anything, dual monitor. FX and other capabilities were just sugar on cake as I never had access to that before.
We can record autonomously or in a daw (Ardour on Linux) and apply effect. I even lent it for live performance / music of small venue.
Expensive for my usage/competence/skills but I was massively happy with it and I keep discovering functions every day (over dub, midi control, etc etc) until ...

The BAD:
Lately I have attempted to switch the model 12 on windows as it is my main 'job' computer.
My needs were simple:
- input as much program I want to control them (not talking about daw) but discord, spotify, MS Teams and a bunch of working stuff