Model 16 : Pro Tools vs Reaper

steveinohio

Hi guys. I’m relatively new to home recording. I have a model 16 and I’m trying to decide between pairing it with PT or Reaper. I’m leaning towards PT to start. Reaper seems like it’s superior in many ways. PT just seems like the learning curve will not be as harsh. What are your thought?

I think if you want a simple learning curve you may want to look at Studio One. No matter what, tho, you’ll have to put some time in to learn the basics and beyond.

If you want a DAW that looks, acts, and sounds like a real analog console, check out Mixbus6 by Harrison Consoles (pictured in my avatar). It's the only DAW I've ever been comfortable using for mixing and mastering. The user manual is excellent, and the Harrison staff are knowledgeable and quick to respond to questions.

I run it on a Win10 Dell Inspiron 3793 laptop.

However, I run it stand-a-lone. I'm not trying to interface it with a Model 12/16/24.

Last edited:
CakeWalk by Bandlab is free, and supported by the DAW integration on the Model 12 etc. I like it, and although I have nothing to compare it to, it seems pretty intuitive to use. There's lots of training material on YouTube too: search for the channel Creative Sauce, that's a good place to get started.

I downloaded and started using Reaper with the Model 16. Reaper has a 60 free trial that is completely functioning with nothing blocked, or altered. I also just took advantage of the $19 USD deal on Mixbus (Thanks for the link, Blue MOnster!). I look forward to playing with them both and seeing which are most enjoyable. I almost originally got Mixbus because it looks really intuitive, and is supposed to have very good sound quality. I downloaded Reaper, though, because I saw it was made in Rosendale, New York, a small village i used to live in!

Reactions: -mjk-
You’re welcome!

Honestly, I don’t think you can go wrong with any DAW these days, as long as you put the time into it and learn how it works for you.