Model 24 WAV files too quiet on PC

btucker

Gear owned
TASCAM model 24
Hello all. I run sound for a small theater company and we have a model 24 board which has been awesome so far. We typically just run live sound and output to speakers and it's pretty simple to run. During the pandemic, however, we decided to put together a "a radio show" so as to not have crowds. We are going to be recording several scenes which I will then turn into one long show. I've figured out how to use the FX options and how to record and it works really well. The issue I'm having is that when I play the WAV files from the SD card on my PC, they are really quiet. I did some research before posting and understand that you have to have the inputs all turned way up and also the gain knobs on the mics. It is still very quiet on play back on the PC. I can turn the gain up on the program I'm using to make it louder but I then get a lot of back ground noise.

Obviously, I am very new to this and did make an attempt to find the answer before asking as I know how it is to answer the same questions over and over. I appreciate any help I can get to point out what I'm missing.

Unfortunately I don't think you're missing anything. In my experience the Model 24 recordings are low and I don't use it for mixes, I only use it for recording. After my recordings are done, I copy the files to the PC for mixing and use a limiter plugin to bring the volume up to a "real world" level.

It would be great if the Model 24 had a limiter built in so it could be used to mix down with a competitive volume, without needing a PC.

Thanks for answering!! That's what I was afraid of. I am using a PC for mixing and have just been playing with Audacity for now. I can bring the gain up on Audacity to get the volume up but it also increases the back ground noise/fuzz. Do you have a recommendation for a limiter/mixing program that doesn't break the bank that I can clean up the noise a bit?