MU-1000 replacement cable needed

Discussion in 'Documentation and Manuals' started by Marko Grujic, Dec 6, 2015.

  1. Marko Grujic

    Marko Grujic New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes:
    0
    Gear:
    DM-4800
    Hi there, I bought second hand MU-1000 without a cable. I need to connect it to my DM-4800.
    Can anyone help me finding replacement cable on the web, wiring scheme will do, too.
    Cheers, Marko.
  2. cmaffia

    cmaffia Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2012
    Messages:
    1,802
    Likes:
    376
    From:
    Queens, New York
    Gear:
    2 x DM3200, DA-3000
    I was in the same situation as you. I called Tascam in the US and they sold me directly for 30USD plus shipping
  3. Marko Grujic

    Marko Grujic New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes:
    0
    Gear:
    DM-4800
    Thanks for the reply. I contacted tascam today and waiting for their answer. They sell some CD cables on the site but there is no cable that I need in regular sale. Anyone has pin scheme for making it?
  4. cmaffia

    cmaffia Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2012
    Messages:
    1,802
    Likes:
    376
    From:
    Queens, New York
    Gear:
    2 x DM3200, DA-3000
    Call the parts department during business hours like I did and they will send you the cable
  5. Marko Grujic

    Marko Grujic New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes:
    0
    Gear:
    DM-4800
    No response from Tascam`s support yet...
    Any other option? Scheme?
  6. cmaffia

    cmaffia Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2012
    Messages:
    1,802
    Likes:
    376
    From:
    Queens, New York
    Gear:
    2 x DM3200, DA-3000
    You need to call them
  7. Marko Grujic

    Marko Grujic New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes:
    0
    Gear:
    DM-4800
    I called them, they sad that I can not buy cable directly from them, they don't have it.
    Please, I would appreciate very much if you could do me a simple favor:
    Can you do basic diagnostics of your MU-1000 cable and tell me if it's straight pin, or it is wired different? If it is straight pin layout, I can easily buy it in local computer store but I'm affraid of making a mistake because some of that pins transfer power-electricity. If I make wrong layout of pins, I can do some damage. You can check easily pin layout with digital multimeter, if you have it.
  8. cmaffia

    cmaffia Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2012
    Messages:
    1,802
    Likes:
    376
    From:
    Queens, New York
    Gear:
    2 x DM3200, DA-3000
    Sorry, I do not have the tools to provide you that info. Perhaps Tascam can provide you the technical specs you need. I know there are schematics on the Cascade cable on the forum but I never saw any diagrams for the MU-1000 cable.
  9. Olietyven

    Olietyven New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2012
    Messages:
    61
    Likes:
    9
    From:
    Denmark
    Gear:
    Tascam dm-24/ dm-4800
    You can use a standard db25 male to female. This cable can be bought in almost any computerstore.
  10. Marko Grujic

    Marko Grujic New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes:
    0
    Gear:
    DM-4800
    Thanks a lot Olietyven, I really needed that confirmaton!
  11. Marko Grujic

    Marko Grujic New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes:
    0
    Gear:
    DM-4800
    It works! It is standard straight-pin cable. No cross-wiring. Thanks everybody! I think that should be noted by Tascam somewhere in the manual, however...
  12. cmaffia

    cmaffia Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2012
    Messages:
    1,802
    Likes:
    376
    From:
    Queens, New York
    Gear:
    2 x DM3200, DA-3000
    That's a huge bit of info. I wish I knew when I had to source an original. I ended up getting it from Tascam at a premium price.

Users found this page by searching for:

  1. cable to hook up tascam mu-1000