MX 2424 analog card issue

Discussion in 'TASCAM MX-2424' started by GypsyBonesStudios, Oct 13, 2020.

  1. GypsyBonesStudios

    GypsyBonesStudios New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2020
    Messages:
    4
    Likes:
    0
    Gear:
    2488 MKii and DP 24SD
    Hi, newbie here...
    I have a MX-2424 that has the analog and optical cards installed. When I try to change the input of the tracks to analog, it gives an error message "inputs not available" for all of the tracks. The digital appears to be the default, and 2 channel is working as well it seems. Is there an issue or conflict with having both of those cards in place or any other ideas? Cables are all hooked up correctly to my Mackie 32-8 (24 channels only hooked) and to the MX 2424. Any help or insight would be greatly appreciated, thanks!!!
  2. Rob f

    Rob f New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2016
    Messages:
    66
    Likes:
    1
    From:
    Sussex, UK
    Gear:
    2 x MX2424. MCI JH428B
    There should be no problem having both these cards installed. I run 2 machines both with exactly this configuration with no issues. I would open the box up & check that the ribbon cable from the motherboard to the analog card is seated properly. Maybe just reseat it anyway.
  3. witzendoz

    witzendoz Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2012
    Messages:
    470
    Likes:
    35
    From:
    Fremantle, Western Australia
    Gear:
    M3700 MX2424 MSR16S
    I have both installed on 2 of my 3 machines and works fine. In fact you can split them into 8 channel banks, for example 16 analog 8 optical.

    Alan
  4. GypsyBonesStudios

    GypsyBonesStudios New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2020
    Messages:
    4
    Likes:
    0
    Gear:
    2488 MKii and DP 24SD
    Thanks for the responses, guys! After opening the unit, I found the power connector to the analog card was loose. Plugged it back in correctly and issue solved!!! This brought another question, is there supposed to be two ribbon cables connected to the card? There are two stacked boards with power and ribbon connectors, now only the lower one is connected and has power. I will try to go through all the connection options to see if everything is working, but I thought I might ask that question in case you guys may know the answer. Thanks for the help!!
  5. Rob f

    Rob f New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2016
    Messages:
    66
    Likes:
    1
    From:
    Sussex, UK
    Gear:
    2 x MX2424. MCI JH428B
    Think you need both of them connected, but am not near my MX's to pop the lid and confirm.
  6. GypsyBonesStudios

    GypsyBonesStudios New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2020
    Messages:
    4
    Likes:
    0
    Gear:
    2488 MKii and DP 24SD
    Rob, thanks and I agree but I don't know how that is possible without another port on the main board for the ribbon cable or some sort of siamese connector. The other power connector is there with the one that is plugged in. I am going to try tonight, but my guess is I will have signal into the inputs (where the current ribbon cable and power plug are connected, lower input section of the AN-2424) but probably no output from the top ports without that other ribbon cable port connection. Could be wrong, but I will find out tonight. The input error message went away entirely now which was a HUGE relief thanks to both you and Witzendoz!! If you find out more, please let me know. Thanks again for your help!!
  7. Rob f

    Rob f New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2016
    Messages:
    66
    Likes:
    1
    From:
    Sussex, UK
    Gear:
    2 x MX2424. MCI JH428B
    I may be wrong about this, as I said I'm not near my MX's to take a look.
  8. GypsyBonesStudios

    GypsyBonesStudios New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2020
    Messages:
    4
    Likes:
    0
    Gear:
    2488 MKii and DP 24SD
    Understood, no problem. It only makes sense they both should be connected to be fully functional, but maybe not. Maybe there is some other reason or configuration for that port.