Newbie Question - DR - 40X Input Level

userme

Hello,

I am new to digital voice recoders. We have a DR-40 X which we will use primarily to record a person's breathing patterns when sleeping. What input level do i need to set (0 -90 ) to capture all and any sounds considering some of the sounds might be extremely low.

Thanks!

I did that for myself several months ago with a DR-40, original version. Using the built in microphones I tried it on the bedside table but ended up placing it closer, next to the pillow since I wasn't going to knock it on the floor. But when I roll over then it's opposite to my face. Maybe rig it overhead if the bed has a headboard.
The initial setting you can try is mimic the sounds you are expecting to catch and get them to about 1/4 or 1/3 scale at least at the distance anticipated. You'd be surprised how much room noise it will record, just from moving air. I couldn't audibly catch every breath but what I was after was a piggy snort or a grunt, indicating I might have stopped breathing for a while and then take it up with the professionals.
Hopefully you then plan to open the tracks on wave editing software and you'll see any spikes right away. I think you'll have a hard time seeing a difference between calm sleep breathing and no breathing. Clinics use other means than sound to analyse that. I wouldn't consider any of this a substitute for a sleep clinic though if it's a health matter.

Thank you for your reply Art. You make very good observations. Have you had to make any other specific settings to overcome the concerns you had? I am particularly not clear on what the "level mode" should be set to (manual, auto, limiter, peak). If set to manual, not sure on which setting between 0-90 will capture even the slightest of noises. I am not even sure if that is what the function of level mode is.

a microphone hanging from the ceiling just above your head maybe?

a pencil condensor might do the trick.