One of my own (instrumental) created a couple months ago

with all due respect, that drum track is a shambles , unless you were going for a disconnected off beat mish mash. There is no rhythm there at all just separate instruments doing their own thing.
Keep practicing, I would not recommend you go in to a studio just yet, keep recording at home for now.

Last edited:
Given that I'm the Village Idiot around here, I feel no risk in giving an opinion (FWIW!):
I definitely see promise/potential, and you clearly have some ability. But it seems to me the material needs "polishing" - a nice way of saying it lacks cohesion, structure, etc...as BBass commented, it's pretty disjointed (unless that was your intent!).
Again - I'm no expert - but playing music with unusual rhythm/time signatures and/or structure is normally the domain of the ridiculously talented (I'd point to Yes and RUSH as good examples).
I also agree that at this point of this particular piece's development: studio time would likely be interesting and even productive, but costly and perhaps premature? There's numerous online resources that outline what the studio experience will be like, what will be expected of you, and what you should be prepared for. I think the fundamental idea is be prepared and do your homework, so you can make best possible use of the expensive studio time.
Good luck!

Reactions: mixerizer
I'm open to constructive criticism and it's one of the reasons I posted here before attempting any studio time. Needs "polishing" that's what I think of after I listen to all of my songs. I've run into a bad habit of moving on to create new material and leaving unfinished material in an unpolished state with the intent of eventually returning to it to fix mistakes. I do agree that I need to tighten things up on several of my songs. I will rerecord this song and link it here sometime in the coming weeks for feedback. Thanks for all of the replies.

Reactions: mixerizer