Porta 07 fried

silki

Gear owned
Portastudio 07
Ijut bought this porta 07 for 20bucks, looks like its been trough some rough time but stilll wanna get it to work. Can someone identify this D602 diode? also, what could i put in place of Q604 transistor it says c1815 on it but cant find viable replacment.
Second problem is that tape deck, it grinds when i press play with the cassete and pulls the tape out of the cartrige but without one it spins normal, also ffwd frwd works okay..id say its the spring around that metal pole but not sure, belts are okay.IMG_20180312_180144.jpg IMG_20180312_180159.jpgIMG_20180312_180127.jpg

How funny. I am in a similar predicament, having bought this last year.

I have an audio out issue.

Could you please share with me how you got the case open on yours?

This is my first time opening anything up.

What I have found out is that its been messed up by polarity inversion, which means opamps are fryed too and should be replaced..
Unscrew bottom screws and the one in the deck itself at the front and it should just split in two...
Let me know if u managed to fix it

Hey,

Yes, I came across a video about polarity inversion, too.

It was on a porta 02, but the fella seems to think that all that may be required is capacitor replacement.

I've about 6 capacitors that are noticeably blown on mine. Have ordered replacements. If that doesn't work it's off to the technological graveyard.

Here's the video if interested:

Yeah, I ve seen that but i truly doubt thats tha case, as there is a thread here about porta 07 where a guy said he repaired numerous cases where polarity was inverted and said that opamps are out almost always.. Found them on ebay $3, so im planing to restore it