Problem finding the USB select option on my DR-40

Discussion in 'Handheld and Field Recorders' started by Gott Bass, May 4, 2021.

  1. Gott Bass

    Gott Bass New Member

    Joined:
    May 2021
    Messages:
    2
    Likes:
    1
    Gear:
    DR-40
    Hi there, I just purchased the DR-40 and I am trying to connect it to my laptop. The USB select option is not showing up on my DR-40. I am using a new MACBook Pro and Big Sur 11.01 and a USB adapter. Maybe there is an issue with newer OS? Help & Thanks
  2. Gott Bass

    Gott Bass New Member

    Joined:
    May 2021
    Messages:
    2
    Likes:
    1
    Gear:
    DR-40
    I figured it out. The USB cable Tascam provides with the DR-40 is only for charging, not for data transfer. That is a huge miss on Tascam's part. Definitely lame and caused lots of confusion and an unpleasant first experience with the product.
    -mjk- likes this.
  3. BazzBass

    BazzBass Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2021
    Messages:
    141
    Likes:
    122
    From:
    Down Under
    Gear:
    2488 Portastudio, DR40
    My power cable connects to my pc no problemo.

    either your cable is faulty or your usb socket maybe?

    unless macs and pcs use different protocols which doesn't make sense....
  4. -mjk-

    -mjk- Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2018
    Messages:
    2,332
    Likes:
    1,393
    From:
    Hukou Township, Hsinchu County, Taiwan
    Gear:
    DP-32, | 2A Mixer, A3440
    @BazzBass, there are power-only USB cables that will not transfer data. My gimbal came with one that had a tag on it: "Power Only". @Gott Bass I feel your pain. Glad you figured out the problem and posted it. Thanks.
  5. BazzBass

    BazzBass Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2021
    Messages:
    141
    Likes:
    122
    From:
    Down Under
    Gear:
    2488 Portastudio, DR40
    ah I did not know that, mine does both and came with it.