PT9 Mix Via Firewire In DM4800 V PT9 Mix In The Box

ghook

From
Auastralia
Gear owned
Numerous
Hi Everyone,
Great the site is Back!!
I have recently been comparing PT9 mix's via DM4800 Firewire card and mixing all tracks in the DM4800, compared to Using DM4800 Remote layer for PT9 in the box mixes(ITB).I find the DM4800 mixes have a poor stereo image and sound quality compared to ITB Mixes.Has anyone else noticed this??.I also have ADAT Cards which i used to use with a 24track Harddisc recorder and the mixes always sounded great,so the converters should not be the issue.I am also using a 1.5MT FW cable which connects to an external drive and 1MT FW cable into IMAC.
I am using a new IMAC with PT9 and i would have thought the mixes thru the DM4800 should be better as i have been mixing with it now for a few years and have only been using PT9 for 6 months.Any replies would be appreciated. :?: Cheers GHOOK

I'm curious myself as I was going to setup my 3200 exactly how you are describing via the FW 32 channels out. Perhaps it's a clocking issue as that could exhibit the same poor audio symptoms you are hearing. Just a thought.

I mix strictly out of the box, and experience no perceivable sound degradation with PT10. On the contrary, the sonics with the DM3200 feature solid imaging, clarity, headroom and stability. Though I've yet to compare an OTB mix with one done on PT in the box, I'd be quite surprised if an ITB mix would sound better.

I use plenty of PT's plugs - compressors, imagers, channel strips, etc - along with the DM's EQ & efx. To me, it's a marriage made in heaven. If I could find a way to have the rig compose music for me, it would be even better. But alas, some things I still have to do myself. :)