Routing for monitor/ direct out to Motu.

Jim Fischer

Gear owned
Tascam DM-24
I am new to the DM – 24.
My previous set up was using an Alesis adat to split the signal for recording and monitoring. I took the line out of my adat in to into my old tascam analog mixer for monitoring and using the light pipe out of the adat to go straight to the Motu/Mac for recording.

My current signal chain is microphone into neve mic preamp into outboard DBX compressor limiter to analog to digital converter to light pipe to Motu.
In other words I want my hot rod preamps and not run the signal through the tascam mic preamps again.

I would like to bring my +4 signal from the DBX compressor into the tascam mixer and go straight to the adat with no tascam mic preamp. How do I configure this routing?
I just want my live studio mic signal into the tascam so I can monitor with my other tracks coming off the motu analog back into the tascam dm-24.

Am I making sense here?
So thankful to find the forum.

Jim

You need to wire some special cables and use the insert jacks.... there's lots of discussion on this here on the forum, so snoop around. But IMO, you are splitting angel's hairs... the Tascam pres are extremely clean: just turn them all the way down and jack in a balanced line. They won't harm your expensive signal.

Besides, With the LightPipe in the equation, aren't we talking about a 16-bit word? If so, you will never hear it.

Thanks for your quick response and counsel on the dm's input.
So do I come in w a tip ring sleeve 1/4 into the instrument input or canon into the mic in?

Also what menu to get it direct out to the adat output.please...

So are you saying better to go analog out to the Motu 828mkII and let it do the a/d?
The Motu is probably 8 years old.

Don't know the vintage of the dm-24. I bought it used at a pro audio shop in portland, Or. Does serial number reveal the year?

Thanks so much,
Jim