Signal Chain Hierarchy

Mark Nicholson

From
San Diego, CA
Gear owned
Model 12
Hey guys,

I'm a noob setting up my Model 12 for the first time. I want to be sure I'm setting things up optimally, so please check that this is correct or suggest a better way of doing it.

I'm starting off with one channel, and I'm using a BeatBuddy drum machine as my test source. It's a nice clean steady signal. It's giving me a boom-boom-boomboom-BOOM (1-2-3and4) with most volume on the last beat. I've taken the Left (mono) output from the BB and am inputting it to the Left channel of input 7/8.

I have set the BeatBuddy up to output 100% volume, and I have turned up the gain on channel 7 to just before where the signal LED turns red (the one right at the top of the strip). I see the signal LED be a solid green at about 4 o'clock, and any more gain causes the LED to turn red on the loudest beat.

On the Meter screen I can see that the peak volume is just above the dotted line on the screen. If I increase the gain til the LED turns red, the meter goes well above the dotted line. Where I have it is where the peak signal from the BB is just above the dotted line, and the LED is solid green. The peak is one resolution interval, maybe two, on the meter.

My theory is that this gives the cleanest signal, please confirm if I'm doing it right.

Then down by the channel fader I press the Main button to put the signal on the Main bus. I am listening on Headphone 1, and have set it to 50% so it is at 12 o'clock. I have set the MAIN fader to maximum, +10db Gain, and control the volume with the channel fader so that I just get the orange 6 dB LED to flash on the meter screen.