Stereo Bus

Doodle46

Veteran
Gear owned
Recorder, Guitars, Keys
Ref. - Tascam DP-32sd:
The term “Bus” is beginning to sink-in... somewhat. My understanding is that a “Bus” is the path that signals travel on. This sounds sensible enough, unless you are me.
I am a retired guitarist, and although my knowledge of Music Theory is better than satisfactory, I have zero electronic training, and my recording knowledge is limited.
On my machine, below track assignments, I see 8 buttons titled STEREO BUS. I know what to do with assignments (etc), and I’m having no trouble completing my recording projects. However, I am on a mission to learn as much as I can about my Tascam DP-32sd, and recording in general.
Q. Why do I need those 8 “Stereo Bus” buttons, and how I can use them in my recording process? What is their significance? Are they simply additional tracks, to be used like any other track? Can someone please explain them to me in language I can understand?

Reactions: Dunny
Routing directly to the stereo bus bypasses EQ, FX, etc. It allows you to hear the input without arming the track. So, you could bring another source into your headphone or monitor mix without recording it. Personally, I have no use for routing to the stereo bus, but I suppose someone might, and will chime in here.

Reactions: Doodle46 and Dunny
I am glad someone has asked the question about the stereo bus facility thanks Doodle46 , it not clear in the manual what its used for, so i have overlooked it as well , maybe used as a mixer facility for inputs , mix and then out to the Stereo bus , in other words , out to the speakers , cant see at the moment where or when i would use it TBH, but i bet someone on here will have the perfect use for it ?

Reactions: Doodle46
Guys... watch the Tipping videos. He explains this explicitly. The genius of his explanation approach is that he uses the signal flow diagram from the DP manual... which helps simplify and make things crystal clear.