Sysex flood from console to DAW

Gravity Jim

Soundaholic
I have been recording in Logic Pro for a few months now without incident. MacPro 8-core, OSX 10.7.5, Logic Pro 9.1.7, Tascam DM3200 with the latest firmware etc.

As recently as last night I was recording MIDI data as I always have, using the Tascam as a transport control for Logic. This morning, having been running the beta version of TMCompanion 1.7 for almost a year, and seeing that the finished version was on Tascam's website, I decided to go ahead and put the real, final version of TMC 1.7 on my machine. THIS WAS THE ONLY CHANGE made since last night.

But now, this morning, when recording MIDI tracks in Logic, I am getting a torrential stream of SysEx data on the tracks. Logic's event list shows that the data is coming from the Tascam... and reports Ch 78, Num 127, Val 33. (i haven't looked up what these numbers mean in Logic's manual yet).

I can easily filter out Sysex data from the Tascam, either in Logic itself or at the MIDI Time Piece, but I'm a root-cause kinda guy, and would love to figure out what the hell happened. I reverted to the beta version of TMC via Time Machine, and threw away TMC's prefs files, but this didn't fix it. I also opened a new sequence in Digital Performer 7.24, and got exactly the same behavior... torrents of sysex, two or three events to a single MIDI click, without touching a MIDI input device.

Any ideas out there?

Hey Jim,

This is a real head scratcher. :)

My first guess would have to do with some routing anamoly in the DM. Perhaps when you jumped up to the new TMC1.7, a midi portal 'opened up' allowing unwanted Sysex to flow through. This might explain why reverting to earlier apps and experiencing the same issue in DP has occured.

If it were me (and it isn't:)), I'd look carefully at all the MIDI settings in your DM, and if needs be, re-loading the ones you've previously chosen. Maybe that'll clean things up. I hope so.