Tascam 38 No sound in Sync Mode!

edthebear

Gear owned
Tascam 38
Hi everybody,
I wonder if I can ask for some advice. I bought my 38 a couple of years back (for spares or repair.) However I have been rather obsessed with getting it to work fully. I have cleaned the machine thoroughly throughout, changed the heads, replaced the Record Produce Amp PCB and now I am left with one enoying problem to solve in order to get this show on the road. I have no sound from the microphone on track 6 while in Sync Mode. the VU meter shows a signal. Does anybody have any idea what I should look at next. As my previous posts indicate I am no electronics expert by any stretch of the imagination! I have just received a 38 Reel To Reel Selector PCB (PCB-104) which is said to work fine. Do you think that this maybe the problem as it only relates to 1 track?
Thanks for reading.
Ed

Sounds like a relay issue on a sound card.

Each card has three relays. They are known to go bad.

You might be dealing with this isue or bad solder joints on the main board.

What do you mean by "replaced the Record Produce Amp PCB"?

Hi Gcalo,
Firstly thanks for replying to my post.
Because I had problems with several tracks not amplfying I purchased 8 cards from the USA which were said to be checked and passed as working. They did the trick for me except for track 6. I interchanged the track 6 card with others from other track which were working OK on the other tracks but the problem was still there on track 6!
This leads me to believe that the card isn't the problem.
I have replaced the motherboard due to an accident I had with the machine. i.e. I didn't have the machine held secure enough when I was working on it and it fell back and badly cracked the MB. (idiot!) This machine has cost me far more than an up and running one would have cost me in the first place, but there is just something about it that I have just got to get it running. Don't ask me why?