Tascam Porta One Ministudio spinning to fast

SILKS

Gear owned
Porta One Ministudio
I am looking for some assistance with my Tascam Porta One Ministudio 4 track recorder.

When the majority of the tape is on the left side, the takeup reel on my device is spinning way too fast, even with the pitch slider centered (set to normal speed). I've captured the issue in this GIF. It's worth noting that both rewinding and fast forwarding seem to be functioning without any problems. The sound of the tape is also audibly sped up.

When the majority of the tape is spooled on the right side, the player stops automatically as if it cannot handle to pull the weight of the magnetic tape.

I've tried playback with both a power adapter and batteries, but the problem is the same.

As an amateur, I'm a bit hesitant to open the case without guidance, unless there's something relatively easy to check.

• Is there a possibility of an easy fix that I could attempt myself, or would it be wiser to seek professional technical assistance?
  • If it does require technical assistance, does this look like an expensive issue (custom spare parts, a lot of working time)?

I appreciate any advice or guidance.

Last edited:
I may be the resident Village Idiot here…AND I haven’t used cassette technology since Reagan was POTUS…

But don’t tape reels turn at different rates, based on how much tape each reel is holding - the diameter determines the amount of tape that each revolution holds?
For example: in your *.gif, the “feed” reel is turning very slowly, because it’s FULL and each revolution feeds a lot of tape…while the “take-up” reel (with its much smaller diameter, being nearly empty) is turning very fast, in order to ‘keep up’ with the tape it’s being fed.
It would be the other way around if the “take-up” reel were full.
I seem to recall tape decks are designed to compensate for this.

You might be right. I haven't worked with cassettes for many years so I am very much an amateur.