Tascam Portastudio 414 mk1 playback, ffw, rew problems

Marco344

Gear owned
Portastudio 414
Hi there,

Recently I bought a 414mk1 I picked it up from the seller who let me try it out before. He used a 14V power adapter and everything worked well, when I brought at my place I used an universal power supply with the correct specifications (12V 1.5A and central polarity negative) but It happened that the mixer worked fine but when I tried to play a cassette the playback had a "wobble" effect and it was very slow, moreover also the reverse and ffw were really slow and they stopped before finishing their task.

Since I'm new to cassette recorders I was wondering if it depends on the power supply or it is a matter of belts, motor, etc? I also thought that the recorder worked normally with the 14v supply because of it was receiving more voltage as needed.

Please let me know if you have any tip.

Thanks in advance!
-Marco

14 Vdc does not belong in the deck so if there was a part like the motor getting too much voltage then it could be damaged. A wobble symptom is usually a lack of oiling in bearing and bad belt. The question is when was the belt changed last? At the same time the belt is changed was the capstan bearing oiled. Bearing with no oil do not work very well and even regular oil is not as good as the stuff I have come to use. The fast wind is related to the capstan motor and may be needing lubrication as a lot of stuff happens off that one motor. Idler tires get worn down and some crack so they are replaced here all the time. The ones I put in last a lot longer and have a 10 year shelf life. They are not regular rubber.

Reactions: Marco344
Thanks for your reply.