Contemplating using a professional studio. What to expect?

Slugworth

Veteran
Gear owned
DP-008EX
Fairly recently started home recording and have never been to a professional studio before. My limited gear is a Tascam dp-008ex, Yamaha dd-65 drum pad kit, basic 4-channel mixer, SM57 and SM58 mics. This is a link to the recording studio I have in mind and the services they offer https://www.earthtonesrecording.com/services

I think the dp-008ex is a great little unit for what it is, but likely cannot achieve the presence and fullness of a pro studio. I've used Audacity (freeware) post Tascam mastering to add a bit of enhancing without any tangible difference. I have little knowledge of the engineering and cost involved that separate this home unit compared to a professional studio. Any explanations would be welcomed.

My thought is to get as much recorded at home to possibly use all or some of those tracks for the studio to enhance and master. If that's not possible then at minimum I would be in a position to have most or all parts worked out ahead of time to hopefully streamline the time needed. One hurdle is I've only drummed on the DD55 and never tried acoustic drums. I assume there's a learning curve? Alternatively, I could either pay for a session drummer or just use the DD55 tracks.

My goal is to record around ten songs to cd. Most likely vocals would be better recorded or preferred in the pro studio? Do most musicians use producer? I hope to keep cost to below $3k , though I don't know if that's a reasonable number or not for what I hope to achieve? All input towards what to expect, how to trim costs, or other advice is much appreciated.

As the resident Village Idiot, I'm not able to give an expert evaluation of this. There's guys here on the forum who are experienced professionals, have owned/run their own studios, and could give you a better analysis (I'm looking at YOU guys, @-mjk- & @Arjan P).