Using DM3200 effects

restblue

Gear owned
DM 3200
I am new to using the DM3200 and Pro Tools 10. We are trying to use the DM and Pro Tools to record our rehearsals. I am able to get live sounds out of the DM through the stereo outs and also am able to record the instruments and vocals in pro tools. However I am trying to figure out how to use the DM's internal effects. I would like to add some reverb to the live outputs without adding the effect to the pro tools recording. Like some others, the routing on the DM is somewhat confusing to me. Any help would be appreciated. I have tried to read through many of the posts on this forum but I fear I am too much not a novice to fully get a grasp on this.

Welcome.

If you look in your DM's library presets, you'll see a template called 'Basic Tracking.' This setup routes the internal efx to Aux3/4 and Aux 5/6. Aux 1/2 is dedicated for headphone mix sends.

CAUTION! Do NOT call up this preset before you've saved whatever setup you currently have to a SEPARATE FILE! Otherwise, that template will overwrite ALL the routing you now have.

After you've saved your parameters, call up that 'Basic Tracking' template. Study HOW and WHERE the efx are auxed, and where the RETURNS are located. Look in the Routing menus to study where/how the elements are routed. If need be, take some SCREEN SHOTS of the specific menus using TMCompanion's Screen Shot feature. Then save those .PNG shots so you'll have a permanent visual reference.

Once the Efx are routed to their Auxes and Sends, hit the 'Effects' button to call up the menus. There are numerous presets in the 'verb/delay libraries. Pick a few and audition them. The channels you wish to send to those efx are accessed in their individual MODULE AUX screens. There are 'dials' in those screens to increase/decrease the amount of signal sent to those efx.