1.50 and 1.52 SX-1 system disks

vjmashie

From
UK
Gear owned
SX-1
Hi

I'm a forum newbie based in the UK with a recently acquired "blackface" SX-1 running v 1.50

It is in great shape (looks unused) and has manuals but came with no system disk (lost by previous owner). I guess that leaves me vulnerable to BSODs and other potential problems I might experience.

Where can I get replacement disks? I need a 1.50 system disk for now. Also, assuming fellow users would recommend upgrade to 1.52, then I guess a 1.52 disk (final version not beta) would enable me to upgrade in a few months?

Obviously I'd be happy to pay (by Paypal I guess) for shipping to the UK etc...

Try your TEAC dealer in the UK. In Canada TEAC is still quite supportive as the SX-1 is considered a "legacy" piece of gear.
Hopefully they are as supportive across the pond as they are here in the colonies.
I would reformat my drive immediately to 1.52 as there are noticeable improvements in the software. Although just remember that any projects done with the older OS are rendered pretty much useless with the OS upgrade.

Thanks for the suggestion.

Unfortunately I am having no joy via TEAC/TASCAM in the UK. The Tascam end user helpline number is "dead", and the dealer support staff, while extremely courteous and professional, can currently think of no way of getting disks cut for me.

I have pointed out that disks may still be available on request to US and Canadian SX-1 users as it is a legacy product. They say that even if that may be the case for US users, Tascam in the US will not ship disks to European end-users. They have however offered to pass my email request on to Head Office as a last resort.

In the meantime I would still be interested in any other avenues I could try, and appreciative of any offers of help from forum members.

Thanks

Fiber

That's fantastic, thanks!