Can i assign inputs to different channels?

T. Bailey

From
Southern California
Gear owned
Teac 80-8, Tascam DP-03SD
OK, I'm an old studio guitarist from the 70's-90's who worked
extensively in Southern California for 20 years. I've also owned
several personal studios over the years, but I officially retired in 2005.

In 2021 after rehabbing from a stroke, I started playing again, and
decided to build a little office studio, for making demos, and cutting
tracks for family and friends. I picked up a Tascam Model 12 recently,
and I am starting a couple of backing track projects.

In the old days, I would use a couple of channels (say 1&2) as master inputs,
and simply bus them (route their signals) to be recorded over on other
channels (say 3&4) for example. My brother has a couple of Tascam DP24SDs
and he says they have a digital menu which allows you to easily move any input
to any channel you desire.

I have been searching the internet for days, and have no good answers so far.
Other than recording on one channel, and then "swapping" it to another channel.
Is there a better way to record a live signal from a particular channel. and print it on
another channel in real time, using the Tascam Model 12 as a stand-alone multitrack?

I would appreciate your guys input, and would like to finally figure out my options
related to this part of the Model 12's digital recording process.

Welcome to the forums.
I don't own one of these front-of-house mixers, but if you look in the shaded area at the top of the first page for the Model 24/16/12 forum, you'll find lots of useful information to help as you learn the ins and outs of the Model 12. :)
Is there a way to record a live signal from a particular channel. and print it on
another channel in real time, using the Tascam Model 12 as a stand-alone multitrack?
To your specific question, internal to the mixer, no. Channels are hard-wired to tracks, unlike the DP-24/32/SD portastudios (discussed in the "Basic Facts" thread).