Can't Start New Project

drummerdude1971

Gear owned
mx 2424
Hello all, I'm hoping someone out there can help me. I have a mx2424 that I have been using for 9 months or so. Everything seemed to be working fine until last Saturday when I couldn't start any new projects. As soon as I tried, the busy light came on and the machine froze up. I have mx view, and I get the message "no connection between devices" or something to that effect. I tried doing it without using the computer and it still froze up.
The weird thing is that I can still load older projects. Like I said this just started last weekend. I'm hoping it's something easy as I'm not the most technical person out there. Thanks

How long has it been since that drive had a "Low Level Format"? When I had had problems with starting a new project it was because the Hard Drives register of project was full. This register does not get the Project folders removed when a project is deleted or when you do a disk clean up, when either of these is carried out it just empties the folder but the folder is still in place. Not only that, but there is also a back up folder of each project created automatically so there are twice as many.

I found this out when I mount the Scsi HD on a PC to solve another problem, I wondered why there were so many project folders when I had deleted some.

Another thing that happens with these folders is that if there are 2 drives mounted and one of the 2 drives has a full register, both drives refuse to create a new project.

So this would be my starting point in problem solving.
Alan.

I haven't done one before, before but I have done a disk clean up. I will try that this weekend. Will a low level format erase the songs on the hard drive? I read the manual and I considered that, but was worried about losing our content. I apologize my knowledge with this machine is low.