CF Card Compatibility

Discussion in 'TASCAM DM-3200 & DM-4800' started by timmdrumm, Aug 1, 2020 at 3:58 PM.

  1. timmdrumm

    timmdrumm New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2012
    Messages:
    54
    Likes:
    5
    From:
    Kansas, USA
    Gear:
    DM 4800 DM 3200 MX2424s
    Hello everyone,

    I'm swapping out my DM 3200 for a DM 4800. Wondering if the project settings, templates, etc., I have saved from the 3200 on my CF card would work in the 4800. Any ideas?

    Cheers,

    Timm
  2. J L Bowie

    J L Bowie New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2013
    Messages:
    38
    Likes:
    21
    From:
    Calgary, Alberta
    Gear:
    DM4800
    Hey Timm, I'll take a stab at this.
    Although it is possible that some similarities between the two consoles might translate, there are enough differences, such as greater I/O alone that could confuse the situation to the point of frustration on your part. My suggestion would be to start fresh and avoid any possibility of messing anything up. If you are deep enough into the DM3200 projects that you have mounds of DM based automation utilized, that would be difficult to replicate, I would finish those in place.

    As for the templates, I think you may have to redo those on the DM4800 for the same reason, in that the configuration is different enough as to make a misread possible, creating more headaches.
    Can't be 100 % positive on this, mind you, but when it comes to these consoles I prefer to err on the side of caution. Hopefully there is someone here with direct experience that can chime in and give you a precise answer.

    Jack
    Peter Batah likes this.
  3. timmdrumm

    timmdrumm New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2012
    Messages:
    54
    Likes:
    5
    From:
    Kansas, USA
    Gear:
    DM 4800 DM 3200 MX2424s
    Thanks, Jack.

    That echoes what I thought, but when I look at the file structure on the card outlined in the owner's manuals it appears to be identical and that got me to thinking about the possibility. Oh well :)

    Cheers!
  4. Arjan P

    Arjan P Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2012
    Messages:
    1,102
    Likes:
    480
    From:
    Netherlands
    Gear:
    DM3200 IFFW
    I would be cautious, as advised above, but if you have the desks both at the same time I'd surely give it a try (that is, loading a 3200 file into the 4800).

    And if I'm not mistaken, @Peter Batah has or used to have both a DM3200 and 4800. I'm sure he'll chime in with his experience..
  5. Peter Batah

    Peter Batah Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2017
    Messages:
    710
    Likes:
    153
    From:
    Montreal, Canada
    Gear:
    DM4800 / MU1000
    @timmdrumm Hello and welcome to the community. FWIW, it has been a little while but I do seem to recall having difficulty loading the 3200 projects on to my 4800. Ultimately, the few saved projects that existed had to be recreated.
    Last edited: Aug 2, 2020 at 3:01 PM
    Arjan P likes this.
  6. timmdrumm

    timmdrumm New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2012
    Messages:
    54
    Likes:
    5
    From:
    Kansas, USA
    Gear:
    DM 4800 DM 3200 MX2424s
    Thanks Arjan and Peter,

    That's pretty much what I was thinking I would have to do, but it never hurts to ask!

    And thanks for the welcome, Peter! Been here since 2012 and it's the first one I've had! :cool:
    Peter Batah likes this.