DM 3200 not transferring audio data to iMac

Hawkins Wright

Gear owned
Tascam DM 3200
Hello,
I have been using my DM 3200 with my macbook pro for about 7 months or so and it has been working well, then recently decided to update to a 2012 iMac. In this transfer I came to realize that the new iMacs do not come with a firewire connection but do have two thunderbolt ports.

I proceeded to order two adaptors (firewire 400 to 800, then firewire 800 to thunderbolt) to rectify this situation and after I plugged it in I was able to get the DM 3200 working with my DAW (I am using Reaper) for one session, but upon trying to start my computer and DM the following day I was unable to get Reaper to play or record and I didn't see any audio signal coming from the DM.

When I switched Reaper to using only internal audio devices on the iMac, I was able to play and record, but if I try and switch my audio device back to the DM firewire port I am once again unable to play, record or see any audio coming in through the DM 3200. I know that the the DM is receiving signal from my mic, and I never changed any of my routing options since I was recording on my macbook pro so routing shouldn't be the issue.

The DM's remote layer is still communicating well with my DAW, but I believe that is the USB cable connection. Has anyone ever used a firewire to thunderbolt adapter with the DM 3200 firewire slot connecting to an iMac thunderbolt port? I am out of ideas as to why this is happening at the moment, but it seems like a communication breakdown between the iMac and the DM 3200. Any thoughts?

-Hawkins