DP-24 Normalization Clipping my Masters!

Dave Zippi

-I am a very happy DP-24 owner & I’m amazed at what it does for the $500 I spent on it. However, learning how to use it is definitely a big “Learning Curve”.

-To save time I usually do my “Mixdowns” on Track 23-24. I then go to “Mixdown” mode where I think the levels are peaking around minus 3-6 dB & with no “Red” showing up in the meters. I then go into “Mastering” mode & I play around with the “Mastering Presets”, set the gain so the meters are reading what I think is minus 3-6 dB & no “Red” again. I then press Record & evaluate. The Levels are good & no “Red”.

-I then press “Normalize” & when I look at the meters afterwards there are always 2 to 4 spots where the master is then in the “Red” for a second.

--I am not a proponent of the “Loudness War” but I’d like a decent respectable level for my masters.

-Is the “normalization” clipping my masters?

-Is there anyone else who has experienced this?

-Any recommendations?

-Many Thanks!

-Dave

Look in the "Production Tips" sticky thread index for the post on "Master Recording Volume Level";)

Last edited:
In addition to Mark's reply, red lights after normalising (on these machines) simply indicate that normalising has done its job of increasing the song's level until the peaks are at 0dB... but not over.

If you rip and play commercial CDs through the machine, you will usually see the red lights come on. Some people think this implies that the lights come on a bit earlier than 0dB so you have a few dB's in hand and that means it's ok to hit the red when you are adjusting levels manually, but I believe this is a false assumption as in these cases (of manual adjustment) you have no way of knowing if the signal is at or over 0dB. When you use automatic normalising, the process is designed to hit the threshold (which is 0dB on these machines), but not go any higher.