DP-24SD or Model 12?

LRod1707

Gear owned
DP-24SD & Tascam TM-80
Hello to all, new member here!
I'm a home/hobbyist drummer and I'm looking at getting into recording my drums by setting up my mini home studio. I have zero experience in this endeavor but I'd like to start off with a decent setup in order to further learn and expand. So my 2 choices are between the DP-24SD & the Model 12. I've read as much as I can about both and see the hardware differences but dont understand the software differences internally and how they differ. That's why I'm asking those here that can help me. My goal for now is to be able to record (4 mics.) with no DAW or minimal DAW interaction. Maybe in the future I'll get into using a DAW but right now I'd like to focus on the recording vs. having a perfect mastering of the actual final product. That future usage is what peaked my interest in the model 12 vs. being stuck with the DP that probably will limit that future. But I'd need to make sure that for now I can use the model 12 as a portastudio but knowing what master track limitations I would have. I can just buy the DP and be fine with that but I'm afraid to buy it and stay limited. From what I see the Model 12 is new tech & the DP is older technology. Now, I'd like to be able to just record my drums and do a basic master (not a perfect album quality recording). So the main question is:
1. Can I do this with the model 12 with no or minor DAW interaction (meaning, recording & mixing and completing a decent master track)?
2. What exactly on the mastering side do I lose from the DP series if I take the model 12 route? (I can't seem to find a good answer for this anywhere)
Any help would be appreciated and I look forward to participating here in the forum.
LRod

Last edited:
Welcome to the forum.