DP32 froze…I thought all was lost, but no!

Hello. Holy cow… I did a quick search and I think I’m screwed.
Right in the middle of recording a simple track the machine froze with a weird split screen, silence, and a very high pitch soft squeal. Totally frozen. Won’t even turn off.

So…I unplugged it.

Turn it back on…and everything is gone.
Everything.

I believe it’s back to new-out-of-the-box.

I am new to all of this, the machine is new, and the card is a 32g SanDisk extreme pro. ‘10”.

I actually had the usb hooked up a day a ago, and made it work, and never thought to drag/drop and save. Uh, now I will. Lesson learned.

So, anyone have any advice or tips? Do I need to re-format and maybe do the initialize feature or anything you folks know of ? I’m concerned to just put the card in and start over…
Wow…so much lost. Sad start to my new machine. First song nearing the end…all gone.
holy cow.

any help?

Write protect your SD card and place it into your computer's card reader. What do you see?

Ok! Hold on…now something is happening..

I don’t know what “write protect” is, but I did what you said, plugged the SD card into my iMac, and I see my song!

Can you help me get it back to the format where the DP sees it?
I may have lost a little, but I see a bunch of stuff and many many ZZ files and a wav file and more. So there is data here.

what do I do now? I’m sensing an import is in order?
Back to Mr. Tipping’s book ?

thank you for any help !

1. Backup the SD card to your computer.
  2. Without inserting the SD Card, turn on your portastudio.
  3. Press: Menu/Information. Look at the System Version and make sure you have the most current one. Info on updating that is in the stickies. If you followed my suggestion to you early on in another thread, you should have the most current version. If not, get new version.
  4. Keeping your SD card write protected, with the portastudio off, insert the write protected SD card. Turn on your portastudio.
What happens?