DP32 inputs too sensitive

David G

Gear owned
DP32 SD
Hi,

I just bought a DP32 and made a quick test while rehearsing with my band. First of all, let me say that I am a TascamDP32 newbie, but I have solid audio background so I clearly understand gain, signal amplitude, signal path and so on,

I plugged in several inputs to the Tascam:
- 3 inputs coming from the insert connector of our mixer (2 voices and a bass guitar after a DI).
- DI output of a guitar amp.
- SM57 in my snare.
- D112 in my kick.

I had to set the gain knobs for all the 6 inputs at lowest value and some of the inputs were already clipping! Let me explain it a little bit more.

The 3 inputs coming from the mixer they are already amplified so it could make sense that output is too big for the Tascam. I expected to set the knob something around unity gain, but my mixer outputs levels and Tascam input may not be the same, so I could understand it. It seems a little bit strange because this outputs are meant to be connected to an external compressor, so signal amplitude should be quite standard, but I can accept it.

The DI output of the amp may have the same issue. I use this output with a Behringer mixer and I had to set the gain at some value. I actually unplugged the cable from the mixer and connected to the DP32. In this case, I could somehow reduce the output level in the amp, but I would need to change my guitar player amp settings and I would prefer not to do this. Again, this output level was ok for the mixer, but extremely loud for the Tascam.

Last inputs do not make sense for me. I placed an SM57 right on top of the snare, in the normal studio/live position. Input track level was getting in the "blue meter area" and both input and track were even overloading some times when I hit the snare. Same happens with the D112 in my kick. These are standard mics at standard positions, and I had to trim (reduce) the signal coming from them because signal was clipping?