DR 40 with external microphone

B

brk_

Hi everybody,

I recently got a Tascam DR 40 and it's a quite interesting unit.
I am very new to Tascam and handheld recorders in general and I have some trouble with my setup.

My setup consists of a
My recording settings are:
  • Format: WAV 24bit
  • Sample: 48k
  • Low cut: 120Hz
  • Pre rec: off
Recording mode:
  • Rec mode: MONO
  • Source: EXT IN 1
I plug the jack adapter into the Tascam and the microphone into the adapter and set it to MIC + phantom but when I record I just get a lot of noise. I have tried to play around with the settings such as the low cut, stereo, mono, mic without phantom etc. and the input levels but I haven't been able to troubleshoot it myself so I was hoping maybe someone here had some experience with a similar setup.

I suspect the Drift external mic is not suitable for the DR-40.

The mic appears to be an electret. Electrets require power, but one would not do well if powered by 48v phantom power; I wouldn't be surprised if the mic has been destroyed.

Electrets are typically powered by 5v or less. Try plugging the 3.5mm mic plug into the mic input of a laptop or desktop computer and see if you can record; the mic is probably damaged if you can't.

What do you intend to record?

Tom

Hi Tom,

Thanks for sharing, I wasn't aware of that.
I tried plugging it into my desktop computer and it still seems to work.

I was planning on recording the sound from my exhaust while moto-vlogging. I plan to switch between a gopro with an external in-helmet mic and the tascam which is placed in the backseat. I am under the impression that with an external mic I'll get better sound quality but maybe the built in mics are similar to the drift external mic?

Do you have any recommendations for a mic of such use as the above?

> ... recording the sound from my exhaust...

Hmmm. That's a tough environment; 60MPH wind-driven water and road debris, vibration and heat.