DR40 Help

benrichards00

Gear owned
DR-40
Hey all,

I'm fairly new to sound recording, so here goes.

Gear being used:

With maximum input levels on both devices, the sound still comes out to about -40 dbs. That's obviously incredibly too quiet, and when I throw the file into Audacity and amplify it, the background noise is too garbled to reduce.

Any advice on how to proceed is appreciated.

I had the same problem with another make of 'cheapo' wireless lapel mic. My solution was to build a mic pre-amp to boost the signal into the transmitter, and then it worked fine.

You may well find that a better quality mic may give you more signal, but I would be surprised if it was that much more than the cheapo mic - which is why I built the pre-amp rather than admit I should have bought a Sennheiser EW 112P unit for ten times the price...

Reactions: Art Anderson
I looked at your link for the Alvoxcon mic, and I know what the problem is:
It looks to me like the wireless receiver has a single-ended output (a standard 1/4 inch mono plug, or TS, tip-sleeve).

The DR-40 is NOT designed for use with ANY single-ended mic or input source. It just won't work that way.

You MUST use a mic or receiver with a balanced XLR connector.

See this thread, and the links:
https://www.tascamforums.com/threads/tascam-dr-40x-clip-on-mic-suggestions.7748/#post-37021

Last edited:
That is an interesting observation, tzdvl, but I wonder if it is correct? In the manual, page 46, there is a picture of signal inputs via a 1/4 inch jack. The DR-40 is designed to take inputs via a 1/4 inch jack - which is not balanced. Can you comment?

The DR-40 is set up to use either XLR connectors or 1/4 inch plugs. But the input MUST be a balanced signal (+/- and ground, or “hot”, “cold” and ground).

If you look closely, the 1/4 inch plug shown in the manual has three sections: tip, ring and sleeve, like the plug on a pair of stereo headphones. That allows a balanced input using a 1/4 inch plug.