Tascam DR-40x : Clip-on Mic Suggestions

SadOldGoth

Gear owned
Tascam DR-40X
Hi,

I'm completely new to this, um, technical field(?) and am seeking some advice. I've just purchased the above piece of kit and with the internal mic there are no problems. I also purchased an external clip-on mic, the MOSOTECH Lavalier Lapel Microphone with Omni-Directional Condenser Mini Hands-Free Clip Microphone, and can't get it to work on the Tascam at all, regardless of the settings I choose (all combos of line/mic/mic + Phantom, and both external Recording Modes - and yes, I've made sure the input level is raised).

I've used the mic on an ipad and it's fine, and I've connected to the Tascam with a 3.5mm adaptor that I know works, but still no joy.

So, I have to assume that the mic itself is not compatible.

I'm keen to have a clip on mic as I will be doing external broadcasts filmed from a drone, and don't want to be carrying a mic around (nor having the Tascam peeping out of my pocket).

Can anyone suggest a mic that would be suitable, please? I'd be most grateful. (If you know the mic I've got works with the Tascam and that I've missed something obvious, a slap round the head as you correct me is not a problem :) ) And, as a student, guidance pointed at the cheaper end of the market would be appreciated.

Thanks for any advice.

Jes

I think I might have solved the issue but will need to find out on Monday next week.

The 3.5->6.5 adaptor I was using for the mic I've got is a stereo Jack (2 black bands). I've tried a stereo output from an ipad into two mono 6.5 jacks and that worked absolutely fine. So, I've got a 6.5 mono jack on order.

Let's see how that goes :)