Headphone Adaptor Issues

kingoffools1138

Gear owned
Dp 24sd
Hey guys. I'm new to the Tascam dp 24sd. Ive used other stand alone studios. So not fully new.
I'm having an issue with sound and sound levels. When recording guitar or vocals. I get a nasty crunch/crackle sound from them both.
With mixer/trim levels set very low so i can almost not hear. The overload light never comes on yet I still get the nastiness.
Im using a Gretsch Electromatic and for vocals is a Sterling Audio st55.
Im at a loss and apologize if this is posted in the wrong place.

Hello King -

Welcome to the forum. Many new users of the Tascam DP series multitrack recorders show up here looking for advice to what are - 99.999% of the time - issues that have simple, straight forward solutions. These are often solved once a few simple criteria are met. Some of us here have preferred to point folks to satisfying this criteria first before spending time helping with troubleshooting.

Here is what I suggest you start with:

1) Go to the Tascam website and download the latest firmware that is available for your machine. There are instructions on that procedure that come with the firmware package as I recall.

2) Confirm that you are using one of the "approved" SD cards. If not - get an approved card. I believe there is a list at the Tascam website. You can also use the search function here to find info on approved SD cards.

3) After loading the latest firmware - *then* do a full format of your SD card.

(now you've got a solid starting point)