Help model 12 simple usb-interface hell

souk

Gear owned
tascam model 12
Hi - i am new to the model 12 and mine is brand new. but on verge of sending it back and returning to my superb little Edirol. NOT USING MODEL 12 as DAW controller, ONLY AS A/D INTERFACE. (only videos i can find are all on using as a controller.)

SETUP AS USB INTERFACE -
1 - windows 10 laptop (soft synths etc) usb to new Focusright solo then L & R balanced TRS into model12 1&2
2 - Macbook Pro, Ableton Live, USB to Model 12 (all my recordings are on Ableton).
___

ISSUES MODEL12 OUTPUTS:
1 USB out from Model 12 into Macbook pro Ableton Live: SIGNIFICANT NOISE ON BOTH L & R Ableton input channels even with no output level from model 12

2 USB is SWITCHING the L & R panned channel outputs on model12 to opposite R & L channels on Ableton inputs (????????!*%$@#)

3 stereo PLAYBACK from MacBook pro only seems to work in 1 & 2 but i want to route them from Ableton to 9/10 stereo channel to minimise controls and free up 1&2 inputs. (selected output 9/10 in Ableton and deselected 1/2 outputs) 9/10 on model 12 set to PC in - NO AUDIO APPEARS in model12 display!

(all model12 channels switched to sub for monitoring)
___

ISSUES MODEL12 INPUTS:

1 - Using FOCUSRIGHT from windows10 PC in BALANCED TRS jacks (L into 1 and R into 2 as per manual) (the input shows up in channels 1&2 on display. BUT to get decent level audio to monitor through sub (from keyboard playing) balanced L&R inputs i have to put gain fully up (no red light distortion - of course i could increase Focusright level and reduce gain but there is another issue)
2 - even with faders down on Model12 there is still significant noise going to channels 1&2 recording inputs on Ableton.
3 - if i raise output faders for model12 1&2 to pre-distortion level coming in Ableton 1&2 - i can hardly hear them on the model12 sub.