Issues Routing Tascam DM4800 to Alesis HD24

summit

From
Ontario Canada
Website
www.summitsound.com
Gear owned
DM4800
I've been a full-time audio engineer since the early 70's and have just replaced my (aging) Tascam M3500 console and Tascam US2400 control surface with a brand new Tascam DM4800 including the MU-1000 meter bridge, firewire card (slot 1) and 2 extra ADAT cards (slots 3&4).

My intent was to initially connect the DM4800 via the 3 ADAT cards and light-pipe to the optical i/o on the HD24 so I could track directly to it, but after several long days of manual reading (and pulling my hair out) for some odd reason I cannot seem to route any signal from the DM4800 outs to the HD24 in's.

I don't have much experience with digital clocking, so I suspect either a "clocking" issue or incorrect routing inside the DM4800 - any suggestions would be GREATLY appreciated! Actually routing templates for both ADAT in and out for the DM4800 to the HD 24 would be really helpful.

To provide some background on my work-flow (all music production), when I switched from 24 track reel recorders, I bought a couple of Alesis HD24's which allowed me to track 24-48 tracks simultaniously with absoloutely no latency issues etc. - then, once my tracking was complete, I dumped the 24 bit .wav files over to ProTools on my iMac (via the Alesis Fireport 1394) and I was using my US2400 24 fader control surface to do my mixes - inside the box (in ProTools 10). Would like to follow a similar work-flow using the new DM4800

BTW - I do have the FW card installed and working on the iMac along with PT10 - including full functionality of the remote layer control for PT.