Me and My Routing, FWIW

TascMan

Soundaholic
From
Lancaster, PA USA
Gear owned
DM3200 UH-7000 3030R2R
Hey there everyone.
I have been on this board since its inception and on our old one for years before that. I am back here almost everyday, but can't always post. I am a 43yo corporate jet pilot for my main job, but I record at home as a hobby, as well as do live sound for friends. I've been doing both since high school. Everything I know about recording and live sound is from years of reading, working with others, and trial and error. That probably trashes my credibility, but so be it. I also play drums (since I was 12), and have been involved with several bands over the years, as well as music programs in high school and college. I was a music Ed. major with a percussion minor for 3 years at U of MD, before changing to English and graduating in Dec of '93, then going to pilot school. I am gone often, so I don't constantly have bands coming in and out like many of you. I have a few regulars, mostly inexperienced, as well as tape/vinyl transfers and I just go with that. Since I have 3 kids, my time is also often tied up with them. Here is an album I just finished for a Christian artist named Lana Witmer;- http://www.cdbaby.com/cd/lanawitmer -. I am currently working with a punk sound based artist. A whole different thing from Lana's stuff!

I have learned so much from these forums, and, as it has been said so many times before, this is definitely the best forum I have been on. The users/posters are both cordial and intelligent which I came to really appreciate over the years. We get very few inquiries like "....I just bought a DM....how do I record my band and get signed?" or " ....I just bought a 5000 dollar mic. So, what does "MIC" stand for again?" Which are pretty common questions on other pro audio boards. So, Cheers to TascamForums, its members and a special thanks to the moderators. I just wanted to say that. I really enjoy being part of it.